Meetings of my local Referees' Association branch regularly throw up fascinating takes of bizarre and obscure happenings on the football pitch. Last night one colleague brought up an incident that had the whole room - including some senior referees - searching for an answer and it took a newly qualified youngster to tell us what may be the correct answer.
My colleague told me how he restarted a youth game after half time and a player scored after just 15 seconds. On closer examination, the referee realised the scorer was in fact a substitute who had come on without informing the referee. What should the referee do?
Everyone at the meeting agreed the easy bit, that the player should be shown a yellow card for entering the field of play without permission, but what about the goal? should it stand? Don't forget the ref has not restarted the game, or is that even relevant.
If the goal does not stand, how should play restart?
Come on folks, I need your answers.
6 comments:
I'll bite. To loosely paraphrase: a goal is scored when the entire ball crosses the entire goal line under the crossbar and between the posts and provided no other law of the game has been infringed by the attacking side.
As the "goalscorer" committed misconduct under Law 12 - no goal. (Put another way, only players can score goals, and this person is not yet a player because the substitution process has not been properly completed.)
Restart would be a goal kick as the ball crossed the goal line last touched by an attacking player.
Now, if the referee restarts play with a goal kick before realizing the error, the goal must stand.
Without committing myself finally, I believe the key thing here is that the ref has not restarted play so it is within his right to change his decision (mind you he has not necessarily blown his whistle to award the goal - he doesn't have to) and caution the "sub", tell him to leave the FOP and award a goal kick.
I think!!
Almost, award an IDFK
indeed anonymous, you're right, an idfk it is to restart.
Law 3 The Number of Players - Quote from the Additional Guidelines for Referees
Goal Scored with an extra person on the field of play
If, after a goal is scored, the referee realises, before play restarts, there was an extra person on the field of play when the goal was scored
the referee shall disallow the goal if
- the extra person was an outside agent and he interfered with play
- the extra person was a player, substitute, substituted player or team official associated with the team that scored the goal
the referee shall alow the goal if
- the extra person was an outside agent who did not interfere with play
- the extra person was a player, substitute, substituted player or tram official associated the team that conceded the goal
So that's what the law says. What is doesn't mention is, that if play has restarted, then the goal is allowed but the matter must be reported to the relevant authorities after the game.
In Saturdays Dail Mail the same question was posed by Graham Poll (does he read your column??) and his answer was to
Caution the player
Allow the goal (it was an administrative error rather than deliberate act)
A quick ask of the captains if there are any changes before the start of the 2nd half will prevent this occuring.
Post a Comment